Gun to empty-hand transition

This is a little practiced technique, but one that’s necessary to know competently.  Sadly most of what’s taught here is stupidly dangerous (this is too important, and I’m too old, to be PC about this).  My article on the subject, showing a good technique developed by Gary Klugiewicz, is over at Officer.com today.  (As I write this, it’s already gotten one comment from someone who either didn’t read the article, or doesn’t or can’t understand the issue.)

deesc 1 568c3f94e16d4

BTW – that’s Scott Conti of SPDtool on the left and our friend, local PO Ed Cialek, on the right.

3 thoughts on “Gun to empty-hand transition

  1. Nice technique! I’m pleased that my brain was already going there before I read about the transition to support hand. I do wonder if another appropriate response (depending on the specific circumstance) might be striking with the handgun held in the firing grip?

    Like

  2. What could go wrong, especially under stress when we all get stupid and the little thingees on the end of our hands don’t work so well? 🙂

    Seriously, I am amazed at the number of otherwise really smart people who teach striking with the gun. I believe that no police academy or in-service training anywhere still teaches it (possible exceptions where the entire county has only two surnames). Cops get in more shit than ordinary people and this technique has had the opportunity to, and has, gone south more than a few times. Please don’t program yourself with it.

    Like

  3. Thanks for posting this. My mind originally went to the natural response of “lower gun, use other hand” just as you pointed out. This technique makes a lot more sense, though. As a civilian, I wonder what the implications might be of accidentally/instinctively striking with the gun once it is in the off-hand non-firing position. I’m guessing a lot depends on the specific case, the judge, etc., but it still probably leaves you in a better situation than a sympathetic contraction leaving a hole in someone/something.

    You’ve probably though of or encountered this, but I would make one minor modification for me. I am right handed, but left eye dominate. As a result, I shoot left handed (I’m just more consistent that way), and my off-hand is actually the stronger/more instinctive for defense. Thus, I would use my right hand to push on the front of the trigger guard or frame (I carry a revolver, so that is more feasible than with a semi-auto), and get the gun back into the position your article shows, but without changing hands..

    Again, thanks for the rather easy, but much better technique.

    Like

Leave a Reply

