Some basic logic for gunners

My post below on the over-emphasis on reloading dovetails with what others on the net have been saying recently (one example here).  But inevitably someone chirps up and says, “If I need my gun I’ll need it real bad, and I will need to know how to reload.”

Uhhh, no. Competent/brisk reloading ability is a good thing, no disagreement.   But the above line of argument assumes that needing a gun and needing to reload are the same thing.  Just to be cute, let me express this using junior high algebra and high school statistics notation.  Yes, I’m being a bit of a dick.  😉

P(need reload ∩ need gun ) = P(need gun) • P(need reload | need gun) < P(need gun)*

If the argument “if I need a gun I’ll need it real bad yada yada” were valid, I’d be screwed; I’d have a hell of a time schlepping around a Barrett .50 and copious rounds for it, a back-up AR-15 and a dozen mags, and a back-up pistol for it along with a mess o’ mags.  Plus I don’t think I can get an Abrams tank registered by the DMV in my state.

*OK, I’m embarrassed!  My attempt at dickdom turned around and bit me in the butt.  The first version of this equation that I published was wrong.  Took me 20 minutes to realize it – hope no one saw it!  Hope I got it right this time (been a long time since high school…)

2 thoughts on “Some basic logic for gunners

  1. Determining training priority is an important part of self defense. Unfortunately it is something that trainers, gun press, net warriors, ect. generally do a very bad job of. I think the 2 biggest reasons for this are the fact that self defense priorities and competition priorities are completely different, and the fact that the important stuff for self defense is not fun or exciting. The majority of the most important parts of the self defense puzzle have nothing to do with firearms. The most important firearms related skills for self defense have nothing to do with shooting. And the most important shooting skills for self defense are very basic. In other words, the important stuff doesn’t sell classes or magazines and drive up subscriber numbers so more attention is paid to lower priority skills. Those interested are then inundated with lots of information about less important skills, so they assume that those must be the most important skills.

    Like

Leave a Reply

